Healing Rain – Press on through the Pain…

Michael W. Smith has a song called Healing Rain.  I think it captures the essence of my season and the season of those around me that I know and love.  There is also a music video of this song available that speaks powerfully.   

As many of you know who are either in the Men's group of in our Sunday night small group I have been in a dark place or in a valley for about 6 months or so.  I received some good christian counseling last fall, I have been in constant prayer, I have been annointed with oil and prayed over.  I purchased a book and workbook by Steve Arterburn called Healing is a Choice that I found very helpful.  My daughter bought me a Life Recovery NLT tranlation bible I am reading this year.  I have gone to conferences, read books, written blogs.  I have revealed to heal.  I have been checking with myself, trying to restore broken relationships, reading my bible.  My wife, my family, small groups and church family have been there for me each step of the journey.  I am pleased to say that I have never needed medication.  Praise God for that!!!  Many of you may not have even been aware that I have been struggling, and for the most part I have been able to function normally.  At least normal for me.  🙂  

Last week God made the choice that it was time for me to heal.  He sent an angel in disguise last week and some much needed affirmation that the things God was leading me to do were the right things.  I did have to agree to meet the angel.  He enabled me to put the things that had been bothering me in their proper place.  I was able to put those things where they belonged.  But I had to be lead to heal.  I had to want to be healed.  I had to seek the Healer.  Intellectually I knew I was doing all the right things but in my heart I knew I was not healed. It took divine intervention. 

Last Wednesday I was on my way home from Davisburg, MI and I had the Healing Rain CD in the player.  The song came on and the tears flowed again.  This time I was ready.  The Spirit had lead the way and I obeyed.  The deluge of Healing Rain came down and the funk was lifted.  That valley was in my rear view mirror.  The darkness became light. 

This kind of healing is an ongoing process.  You don't leave the valley hospital and announce your self healed.  Yes, you speak healing into your life.  But you have to be lead to healing by the Holy Ghost. You must obey and follow the lead of the Spirit. 

 Back to the video.  Basically the rain represents the healing grace of the Holy Spirit.  There are two things that have to happen both in life and in the video.  1st thing that has to happen that is God has to determine that you are ready to heal and provide His grace and His rain.  The second thing that has to happen is you have to step into His grace.  I am not saying His grace is not there whenever we need it in abundance, but we have to do our work and want to be healed.  The the rain will come.  Then you must step into that rain. 

I know there are many of the people I hold dear to me that are in need of healing.  They need healing from a back injury.  They need healing from the loss of a loved one.  They need healing from broken relationships, betrayal, sickness, cancer, divorce, loss of income, abuse, unexpected bills, or an illness in their family.  They may not know what they need healing from or they may not admit they need healing.  They may be trying to heal themselves.  They may have said just let God do it alone.  I think you need team work to heal.  One of the lies in the book "Healing is a Choice" is that all you need is God and yourself to heal.  The truth is that you need God and you also need people around you. 

Another thing I have learned is that you have to go back to that place where the wound occurred.  You may have to feel things and think thoughts and go places you do not want to go.  But you do have to go back to that place and the healing starts there.  You will never really get over what your wound is and it will become a part of you.  You will always have it with you but you have to let Jesus deal with it.  Not a managable size or a size that you can deal with.  Jesus did not die so we could manage or cope with our wounds.  He died so we can claim victory and conquer our wound. 

To conquer our wound you have to stop feeding it.  If you continue to feed your hurt it will continue to grow.  You care for it, nuture it, dress it up, always keep it with you.  You have to decide to kill it, stuff it and mount it as a trophy.  You have to put in the past and press on for the prize.  You must leave it in the past. 

Many of you who read my emails know that my signiture for the last couple of years has included a verse from Phillipians 4:13.  Well, I am going to change it.  I am changing it to Phillipians 3:13.  The whole message is Phillipians 3:12-14.  "12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus."  

I want to encourage you, no implore you, to do the same.  Meet your giant, let the Lord go before you and slay it.  Then leave it behind you and press on.  Press On. 

8 Comments »

  1. christinamollette Said:

    What if you don’t know what your giant is? That’s what my problem is I don’t know. What do you do then? I have been talking to God. I have been asking him to please help me. Only he knows what is wrong, and how I feel. I sure can’t explain it. I have asked him to show me away to get over this. It is in his time not mine. I know that he is with me. I will just keep on waiting on my healing rain. Love ya Christina

  2. christinamollette Said:

    I just watched that video.

  3. sam Said:

    powerful testimony, Jim. Thank you

  4. The Pudgeman Said:

    Jim (or should I say John), thank you for sharing from your heart today. I think I might copy and past this somewhere for future use :)! You are a blessed man who through love has blessed many other. B4T

  5. mudpuppy Said:

    Probably your best post ever! Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Four Leat klover Said:

    Awesome post Jim. Thank you for the encouragement. I love to hear about real testimony and I’m sure that was not easy to do. Love you!!!

  7. Four Leat klover Said:

    Awesome post Jim. Thank you for the encouragement. I’m inspired by real testimony and I’m sure that was not easy to do. Love you!!!

  8. sam Said:

    Great discussion and topic last evening, Jim. Thank you! Oh yeah, and yummy cake!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

