For the proud will be humbled, but the humble will be honored.

That verse is from Luke 18:14b.  I think it stands on its own.  The mens group completed their study last night of Micah 6:8c and the discussion last night was on how to “walk humbly with God”.

 We attempted to define what is was to “walk humbly”.  Sure enough it rolled around to being “not proud”.  When I look in the topical index in the back of my bible under “Humility” is see to also see “Pride”.  Conversely when I look under “Pride” it says to see also “Humility”.  There may  be more entries under Pride and Humility than any other topic in my bible except maybe the topic of love.  I would guess as there is no one without sin there is also no one without pride. 

There are several devotionals regarding pride in my bible, one from Daniel 4:19-33, Luke 11:5-13, Luke 18:10-14 and Philippians 2:5-9.  There are also two profiles of Hagar & Ishmail and also Nebechadnezzar.  But by far the most convicting thing I have read on pride is from a new book Donna bought just last week.

My oldest daughter Martha has encouraged us to read and watch Beth Moore.  She is a dynamic speaker and author.  The book we have started is a study on strongholds and how to break them.  Beth states we need to use our weapons, God’s Holy Word and prayer in the spirit to battle these strongholds.  She suggests each of these is a stick of dynamite and suggests we strap them together for more power.  Some of the strongholds addressed in this books are depression, unforgiveness, addictions, pride and about a dozen more.  I would like to quote from Beth Moore’s book “Praying God’s Word”, chapter 3, overcoming pride, pages 59 and 60.  I pray you may find it as convicting as I have.

“My name is Pride.  I am a cheater.

I cheat you of your God-given destiny…because

you demand your own way.

I cheat you of contentment…because you

“deserve better than this.”

I cheat you of knowledge…because you already

know it all.

I cheat you of healing… because you’re too full of

me to forgive.

I cheat you of holiness…because you refuse to

admit when you’re wrong.

I cheat you of vision… because you’d rather look

in the mirror than out a window.

I cheat you of genuine friendship… because

nobody’s going to know the real you.

I cheat you of love…because real romance

demands sacrifice.

I cheat you of greatness in heaven…because you

refuse to wash another’s feet on earth.

I cheat you of God’s glory…because I convince

you to seek your own.

My name is Pride.  I am a cheater.

You like me because you think I’m always looking

out for you.  Untrue.

I’m looking to make a fool of you.

God has so much for you, I admit, but don’t worry.

If you stick with me.

You’ll never know.”

Father, you’ve warned me that when pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes widsom.  (Prov. 11:2)

Father, You’re teaching me that pride only breeds quarrels, but widsom is found in those who take advice.  (Prove. 13:10) Help me to discern the pride that is involved when I am quarrelsome.

Lord God, Your Word cleary warns us that pride goes beforer destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.  (Prov. 16:18)

God, I know that a man’s pride brings him low, but a man of lowly spirit gains honor. (Prov. 29:23) Help me to understand what You mean by a lowly or humble spirit.  I want to be a person who gains honor in Your sight.

Pride is the deification of self. Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

IDYBT…IMBO

Leave a Reply

