Put me in coach, I’m ready to play, today…

You know it occurred to me you know who you are talking about when you mention the Apostle Paul or St. Paul, but did you ever think of him as “Coach Paul”?  I have to admit I don’t write this stuff, but I do read it! 

My athletic coaches have had a profound influence in my life.  I can still tell you today some of the things my high school football coach said and I graduated high school 35 years ago!  One of his sayings that has stuck with me to this day is the saddest words are “what might have been”.  I can also recall his words that still sting to this day when he described me as a boy that when he came into his program “Jim could not walk and chew gum at the same time”.  The words of a coach carry more weight.   You listened to him because he alone decided if you played or if you rode the pines.  They can lift you up and encourage you but they can also rip your heart out.  I can tell you another thing about my high school football coach.  He cared more than about just winning games.  Times were tough for some of kids and he helped some of us find summer jobs that enabled us to attend school and help out the families.   He met our needs emotionally, physically and spiritually.  But  back to Coach Paul…

The apostle Paul labored to foster unity amidst a diverse population – in other words, he was a team builder!  Paul also often used sports analogies to drive his points home.

John Maxwell in his Leadership Bible points out how Paul in Eph. 4:1-3 comments on the attitude of individual players and also points out that Paul discusses the attitude of the body in  Eph. 3:4-6

Each of us has been given some grace and some gifts.  Paul calls the church a temple, a bride, a mystery and a body.

Think of Paul as a coach, building his team.  How do we build a diverse group into a unified team?  Ask yourself the following questions:

1. Am I building people, or building my kingdom and using people?

2. Do I care enough to confront people when it will make a difference?

3. Am I listening with more than my ears?

4. Are their goals compatible with mine?

5. Am I asking the right questions to develop the right relationships?

So are you a team player?  Are you willing to die to self and take one for the team? What are you willing to do? 

1 Comment »

  1. sam Said:

    that’s some deep thoughts for today. I never thought of Paul as a coach, but I think he must have been very physically fit, probably a runner. That seems to be the new buzz word in sales and management too. I hear “coaches” being paged to registers at the stores, my boss tells me to coach other people…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

