So it starts again…

Team W L PCT GB
Cleveland 0 0
Chi White Sox 0 0
Detroit 0 0
Kansas City 0 0
Minnesota 0 0

Well, you know it occurred to me.  We spring forward tomorrow and my thoughts turn to Winter Haven (nice name for a locale in Floriduh eh?)…

I got a call from fellow T.M.D.R.B member and brother in the Lord, Larry yesterday.  He is hanging out with his wife and daughter from the eastern shore of Floriduh.  Larry says it has been about 80 every day and sunny.  Sounds very nice. 

He did say they were going to hang around for the shuttle launch next week but they are almost ready to come back to Sunny Michigan.  (We did have a couple of sunny days last week)…

But the boys of summer are training for another season of baseball.  It won’t be long and America’s pastime will launch another season halfway around the world in China or some place far far away.  What is up with that? 

If you ever get a chance to take in some Grapefruit or Cactus league action, I would recommend it.  I did get to a Cactus league workout last year and if you think regular season baseball is relaxing, think again. 

But I do like the way the standings look now and I predict that come October they will look very much the same.  As you know good pitching always stops good hitting. 

It should be exciting down at Comerica this year.  I have procurred tickets (yes there is that ticket word) for most all the Indians games in Detroit this year.  They are a tough ticket to get as some of the games only have single seats of limited view seats available.

Also new to 2008 will be several trips to Cleveland to take in the Tribe.  Yes, as a result of the illfated trip to the playoffs last year, I am now a partial season ticket holder of your Cleveland Indians.  As Fridays and Sundays are kinda busy, I opted for the Saturday mostly package.  I am looking forward with great anticipation to the warm weather, baseball and some Hot Dogs with Bertman’s mustard!

Did I mention that my daughter got me two jars of Bertman’s for Christmas?  I must have forgot.  I think I will fire up the grill in the next day or so, put some bratz on and try out my new jar of mustard.  Make my mouth water just thinking about it.

I am also looking forward to St. Patricks day.  I did jump the gun a little bit and last week purchased a corned beef brisket, and some how it made it into a pot and we had a wonderful boiled dinner the other night.  What a simple and tasty dinner!  Just do a search on “boiled dinner” and you will find many simple recipes.  I highly recommend it and it is east too!

Well, one other note.  I do not like this Daylight Savings Time.  I know our God is a timeless God (I was thinking about that just this morning), but this changing of the time twice a year is ridiculous.  You know there are two places left in the US where they do not observe D.S.T and I would consider moving to either of them if God said it was ok to go (they are Arizona and Hawaii)… 

Well, I must be off..

2 Comments »

  1. Jay Said:

    I like spring, not so much the springing forward stuff, and I do not like the falling back in the other part of the year.
    Get a good look at your standings, for when the final ball is pitched it may look similar but I think the “D” might have something for your tribe this year!
    You know I read that daylight “savings” although meant to be helpful, really isn’t helping at all, it actually is costing more about $4.00 or something annually per household instead of saving money.
    I think I want some corned beef hash!

  2. sam Said:

    woo hoo looking forward to Baseball season again!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

